Dry Cleaning Environmental Training Program

This page last reviewed on March 20, 2014




Link to the latest Instructor / Course list.




PROGRAM HISTORY

On October 14, 1993, the California Air Resources Board (ARB) adopted two regulations that affect dry cleaners in California. Those regulations are codified in Title 17 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Sections 93109 and 93110. Section 93109, the Airborne Toxic Control Measure for Emissions of Perchloroethylene from Dry Cleaning Operations (the Dry Cleaning ATCM), sets forth the equipment, operations and maintenance, record keeping, and reporting requirements for dry cleaning operations. Section 93110, the Environmental Training Program for Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaning Operations (the Environmental Training Regulation), sets forth the criteria for the ARB to approve persons or organizations to provide the training programs.

The Dry Cleaning ATCM and the Environmental Training Regulation became State law on June 3, 1994. As required in Health and Safety Code Section 39666(d), the air pollution control and air quality management districts (districts) have 120 days to implement and enforce the ATCMs adopted by the Board once they have become State law. Therefore, the Dry Cleaning ATCM became effective October 1, 1994. The districts also have the option to adopt a regulation that is at least as stringent as an ATCM adopted by the Board. If the district chooses this option, they have six months to adopt and enforce an equally effective or more stringent regulation than the one adopted by the Board. Therefore, districts adopting their own dry cleaning regulations were required to have them adopted by December 3, 1994. The Dry Cleaning ATCM has been ammended effective December 27, 2007.


TRAINED OPERATOR REQUIREMENT

The Dry Cleaning ATCM requires every facility to have at least one person who has attended an ARB-approved environmental training course within 18 months of the effective date of the Dry Cleaning ATCM in the district. The effective date is April 1, 1996 for districts that are implementing and enforcing the Dry Cleaning ATCM or June 3, 1996 for those districts that have adopted dry cleaning regulations. However, the Dry Cleaning ATCM provides that if courses are not reasonably available, the alternative compliance date is six months from the date the district determines that courses are reasonably available.


PURPOSE OF THE TRAINING PROGRAM

The Curriculum for the Environmental Training Program for Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaning Operations was designed to help dry cleaners understand and comply with the Dry Cleaning ATCM and other regulations that affect the dry cleaning industry. Complying with these requirements will allow dry cleaners to operate their facilities more efficiently, thereby reducing costs, Perc emissions to the air and worker exposure to Perc. The course is also intended to provide dry cleaners with information on other regulations from agencies involved with water, worker exposure, emergency response and hazardous waste disposal.


LIST OF CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS AND AVAILABLE CLASSES

Each facility is required to have one or more trained operators present at all times. A trained operator is an employee who has successfully completed the initial environmental training course to become a trained operator. Each trained operator is required to successfully complete the refresher course at least once every three years.

The ARB regularly compiles a list of individuals and organizations certified to conduct the training courses and courses that are scheduled in the next few months. More courses are added as new instructors are certified. The list contains the names and phone numbers of certified instructors, the locations and dates of scheduled courses and the language (English or Korean) for the courses. It is updated regularly, so please check back often.



If you have any questions about the Dry Cleaning Environmental Training Program, please call
(916) 445-0961 or send an email to Tom Raschke ( traschke@arb.ca.gov)


preload